When using the Send Knowledge Base to Server operation make sure to check the Work with Lock model check box on the dialog to start using the lock mode; otherwise you can change the mode in GXserver console with the Team Collaboration Mode (Lock Mode or Merge Mode) property.
Once you got a working copy Knowledge Base using the Lock mode you can start working ! Notice the Team Development contextual menu add new options to work with locks:
A developer first obtains exclusive write access (a lock) to an object to be edited, makes the changes, and then releases the lock to allow other developers access to the object via a commit operation.
Commits by all other users will be blocked until you release the lock. A locked object cannot be modified in any way in the GXserver repository, so it cannot be deleted or renamed either, except by the lock owner.
If someone else already has a lock on the same object, they have to "release" it before you can lock it and start making changes (or you may steal their lock).
If you break or steal someone else's lock without telling them, you could potentially cause loss of work. If you are working with unmergeable file types and you steal someone else's lock, once you release the lock they are free to check in their changes and overwrite yours. GXserver doesn't lose data, but you have lost the team-working protection that locking gave you. So whenever possible, avoid Breaking and Stealing Locks.
To lock the following object types use the Work With Object dialog to filter them and then apply the lock operation (Team Development contextual menu):
Prompt objects are not considered in the commit or update operations. When a prompt is saved as "user prompt" it is marked as inserted in the local Knowledge Base, so now on it will be considered for commit and update in other knowledge bases. After the prompt is committed to GXserver, the lock operation on this object will be available.
Make sure your GXserver instance is synchronized with the GeneXus instance (same Build number).
In those cases when the GeneXus instance is newer than the GXserver instance the following error messages will be displayed during a Create KB From server operation when the selected KB enables locking.
========== Create Knowledge Base started ==========
Importing Theme 'GeneXusXEv2'... Failed
error: Object 'GeneXusXEv2' cannot be saved.
Theme 'GeneXusXEv2' isn't Locked or Force Edited
error: Object 'English' cannot be saved.
Language 'English' isn't Locked or Force Edited